I think there is a stigma around young adult novels that they are purely for “teens” and that just isn’t true. As I’ve gotten older I’ve gotten the stereotypical “aren’t you a little old to be reading that comments” and it drives me crazy. Young Adult literature simply means that:

  1. The protagonist is most likely a Young Adult
  2. The material in the book is for the maturity of a teenager (in terms of sex, violence, etc.)

That’s basically it.

In other words, there is nothing about Young Adult books that limit them exclusively to young adults. I believe strongly that the magic of books relies on its ability to connect with the reader. Anyone teenage and up can relate to young adult books because we all were, at some point in our lives, young adults. These books give everyone the opportunity to essentially travel back in time and reconnect with our younger self. It’s like Disney world!

While I’ve already begun to explore some New Adult and Adult books, I honestly believe that I will always read YA books (obviously not to the extent I read them now) because their is something so wonderful about them. The age range explored in these books allows the characters to go through so many “first experiences” and lends itself perfectly to character growth and self discovery.

And yes, I know, it can be fun and exciting to read more mature material (you know what I mean). However, it’s important to remember that as fun and exciting as it is to read, each book has a fundamental truth to it the transcends age. You can still enjoy more mature books while maintaining an appreciating for what the young adult genre has to offer!

Furthermore, while these authors may not be writing in as intricate a style as more “classic” and “upper level/advanced books”, that still doesn’t mean that they don’t have complex themes and lessons.

Take for example the classic Harry Potter series, everyone knows that these books are considered a middle grade/young adult series, however they are beloved and cherished by people of all ages. Why? Because they explore concepts like friendship, bravery, sacrifice, love, acceptance, etc. (this list could go on forever). These books are classics and have truly shaped our generation. These books that some people ride off as “childish” have been just as influential (if not more) than “classic writers” such as Dickens, or Bronte. I’m just grateful that though Harry Potter was a “kids book”, it was cool at the time enough that people gave it a chance, and for some, I believe it  changed their lives.

 

Another example, the Hunger Games series. This series was my first true, deep exposure to depression and PTSD. It allowed me to grasp a foreign concept from a personal level at a young age that helped me treat these mental issues with kindness and compassion when I eventually came into contact with them and many others through my friends and families.  This book also discusses ideas like a corrupt government (something highly applicable today), morality and how far one would go for self-preservation. This was all done in a safe place, in a way I could understand it, which has positively affected my “adult” life, the way I look at situations and my fellow humans.

So basically moral of the story is, read what you want and don’t ever let someone put you down or make you feel bad for reading something you love.

With love,

Dani